Tim Wells Blues Band

Tim_Wells_web27 January 2012

Hosted by the Elizabeth Sneddon Theatre, the Tim Wells Blues Band launches its much awaited CD, “Everything You Want”. The evening also features MC Iain Ewok Robinson, guest artists Colin Peddie and Kerry Wood of “Rise” fame, and seasoned performers and long-time friends of Tim -  Joseph Clark and Brendan Jury.

The Tim Wells Blues Band comprises Tim on vocals, Nux Schwartz on guitar, Peter Enslin on keys, Jason Andrew on bass and Steve du Plessis on drums. The band often collaborates with Colin Peddie (guitar) and Smelly Fellows on bass (who may be able to make a guest appearance on the night).  The Tim Wells Blues Band has performed at two of the Durban International Blues Festivals (2010 and 2011) to acclaim and at the 2010 Fifa World Cup fan parks as well as the Durban World Music Festival 2011 and various private functions. The band also presented the show “Big Blue” at the Rhumbelow Theatre in 2010 for which Nux Schwartz and Tim Wells were nominated for the Mercury Durban Theatre Awards.

The new CD, produced by Nux Schwartz, promises something for everyone and the material is largely written by Tim Wells with only three of the tracks being the band’s versions of “covers” or standards. These include a moving rendition of Van Morrison’s “Into the Mystic” and BB King’s “Woke up this Morning” which was made famous by Snowy White. A bonus track on the CD will be a remix of one Tim’s songs “Every Little Bit Counts” featuring spoken word/rap by Iain Ewok Robinson.

Lighting and set will be by Michael Broderick with direction by Dean Bennewith of Eeny Meeny Mini Mo Entertainment, and sound and management by Jackie Cunniffe.  The show begins at 7.30pm with tickets at a nominal amount of R30.  Advance booking is through Computicket.